diy solar

diy solar

Outback FlexMax 80 vs Midnite Classic 150

Bongiovi

Hi guys. I am a newbie here on this forum. I hope I am not breaking any rules by posting this thread. Anyhow, I am just setting up my first solar system which is comprised of 6 x 100 watt Eco-Worthy mono glass panels run into a combiner box. I just bought an Outback FlexMax 80 but it hasn't arrived yet. I was watching a few videos last night on the Outback, and I'm starting to wonder if I should return it and buy a Midnite Classic 150 instead. Can anyone here share your thoughts and experiences with these two products and help direct me in one way or the other? I chose the Outback as I plan on expanding my initial system in the future and didn't want to have to purchase a different charge controller. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

They're both very high quality units. Your decision should be based on which unit meets your specific needs best.

I don't know if the Outback has it, but the Classic as a nice cold-panel over-volt feature. If you have a normal Voc at say 140V on a 150V controller, and the panels get cold with a voltage spike, the Classic goes into a standby mode and waits for the voltage to settle (panels heat up). With my Victron, bad stuff happens. Not sure if the Outback has that feature.

Only important if you want to max out your panels in series. If cold panel voltage spikes are a risk for you, you'd want to keep the VoC limited to about 120V on a 150V rated charge controller.