diy solar

diy solar

Overkill bms and kisae dmt1250

Pyke13

Hi there folks, apologies if I’ve posted this in the wrong place or it’s been covered before. I’m new to diy battery building so please be gentle with me.

I’ve got the 12v 4s overkill bms and wondering if there’s any way I can use it to turn off my solar controller?
From what I’ve read and think I’ve understood, I don’t want the lfp cells sitting fully charged as it shortens their lifespan. My idea is to have the bms cut out at 90%soc and not reconnect until around 30%soc in summer and to turn back on at 80%soc in winter. I only get around 6-7 hours daylight in winter.
I have the kisae dmt1250 combined solar controller b2b charger, this unit has a master switch so can be fully turned off.

The reason for asking is I’m unsure how it handles dumping power if the bms disconnects from the charger.

Hope that makes sense and thanks in advance for any help and advice received

I recall hearing/reading that if you pay the $6 for the Bluetooth app and if you have the Bluetooth dongle, you can change most parameters of the BMS. So you could set the max cell voltage to whatever you desire.

I’ve got the Bluetooth dongle for it, setting up the app should be easy enough. What I’m struggling to get my head round is what does the b2b solar charger do with the power when the bms is shut down. Will it burn it out as it has no place to send it, like connecting the solar to a controller but not the battery. Or maybe I’m just over thinking the issue and finding a problem that doesn’t exist

Hmmm that may be possible but sounds like somewhat advanced logic for a BMS not designed for charge control. A BMS that is designed for charge control like the SBMS or other higher end options is designed to operate in a way similar to what you are envisioning.