diy solar

diy solar

Panel array and wire gauge for lv2424

CyleBruce

I’m a noob and need some assistance with wiring my array for my lv2424 specs on panels are 360watt 39.6vmp imp 9.10 open circuit voltage 47v max series fuse rating 30amp . Am I able to wire 2s2p and if so do I need a combiner box and to jump down to 8 or 6 gauge wire or can I run 2 separate 10 gauge leads straight to the lv2424 ? Any help is greatly appreciated

I like a combiner box as I feel it makes for a clean set.
2s config 47v x 2 = 94v max
2s config 9.10 a x 2 = still 9.1 amps (updated)
2 p config 9.1 x 2 = 18.2 amps (updated)
calculate wire size based on amps and distance

Last edited:
Thanks for the info , my array will be no more than 20ft away from the charge controller. I guess I may have wasted some money then as I just bought mc4 branch connectors to run 2s2p but this seems like it will be not sufficient enough to handle all 1440 watts. I thought I had it all figured out but looks like I may need a combiner box and go from 10 gauge to 6 gauge

I’m a noob and need some assistance with wiring my array for my lv2424 specs on panels are 360watt 39.6vmp imp 9.10 open circuit voltage 47v max series fuse rating 30amp . Am I able to wire 2s2p and if so do I need a combiner box and to jump down to 8 or 6 gauge wire or can I run 2 separate 10 gauge leads straight to the lv2424 ? Any help is greatly appreciated
The 2S will have amps at 9.1 (amps stay the same in series, voltage doubles). The 2P will just double the amps.
Use photovoltaic 10 gauge wire, it will handle 30 amps just fine. You do want to use UL 4703 Cable. You can connect the 2S together (in a 2P) with the common Y adapters and run a single 10 gauge wire to your all in one. The 2S stays in the correct voltage range, and the 18+ amps from 2P is easily carried by the 10 gauge wire.

Last edited: