diy solar

diy solar

Panel calculations

Jchance

Hello,

I am new to solar. I’ve been doing a lot of research and want to make sure I’m doing this correctly.

I just purchased a power station/solar generator for my RV which has a specific specs for panels; 300w max, 30-40V range and 10amps. I found a great flex panel that’s reasonably priced in my budget, (I don’t want to drill in to my roof that’s why I’m using flexible), They are 50watts, 17.6Volts and 2.80Amps each. If I were to run 3 pairs, each pair in series, then connect the 3 strings in parallel, will this be ok?, If I did the math correctly?;
17.6V x 2=35.2V
2.80A x 3=8.4A
50W x 6=300W

A side note, I decided to go with a solar gen instead of a full install for a few reasons; we plan on selling the RV within 2 years, we wanted a portable backup system that we can use at home in an emergency and the price was right!

Thank you for any assistance you can render. Ok

Hello,

I am new to solar. I’ve been doing a lot of research and want to make sure I’m doing this correctly.

I just purchased a power station/solar generator for my RV which has a specific specs for panels; 300w max, 30-40V range and 10amps. I found a great flex panel that’s reasonably priced in my budget, (I don’t want to drill in to my roof that’s why I’m using flexible), They are 50watts, 17.6Volts and 2.80Amps each. If I were to run 3 pairs, each pair in series, then connect the 3 strings in parallel, will this be ok?, If I did the math correctly?;
17.6V x 2=35.2V
2.80A x 3=8.4A
50W x 6=300W

A side note, I decided to go with a solar gen instead of a full install for a few reasons; we plan on selling the RV within 2 years, we wanted a portable backup system that we can use at home in an emergency and the price was right!

Thank you for any assistance you can render. Ok
Where are you buying the 50w flex panels from or did you already buy them?
Website or sales link?