diy solar

diy solar

Parallel Arrangement (Are 8 cells too many?)

Newman

This is my First attempt (Probably Second) at posting. I have watched numerous videos concerning various methods of hooking up LiFePO4 batteries. I have just purchased (4) of the below listed battery packs from Ebay. There are a total of 128 cells in my purchase. Each cell is 3.6 volts and 40Ah. I have a 48 volt system with a Magnum MS4448PAE inverter. My old AGM batteries did not survive the past Winter. They were 14 years old... I see in Will's video on top balancing that he hooks All of his batteries in Parallel, to do the balancing act. My Question is? Why not leave them that way? ( 8 cells in parallel in my case).. I would like to build my battery pack after bottom and top balancing, By hooking 8 cells in Parallel creating one battery (Set) of 3.6 volts and 320Ah. Then connecting 16 of these (Sets) in series to achieve my 48+ volt required battery pack. What problems do you foresee? I propose using heavier bus bar material.. I anticipate adding a BMS to the system, and it is my understanding I would be able to operate with ONE BMS that would monitor the 16 battery (Sets). Still studying the Overkill BMS and awaiting the release of the New Chargery with all of the upgrades that have been suggested. Thank you in advance for all of your expertise..

lithium ion battery cells 160ah LFP Etrust Brand (Solar Backup) | eBay
The system demonstration was operational only for a couple of months.
ebay.us

since there is no way to manage parallel cells, 2 is already too much from a certain point of view.
but 2 or 8, it does not really change the concept. Tesla batteries are parallelling a lot more.
just make sure each battery is fused
for example it is a strange idea to purchase 40A cells to put them in parallel , when you can purchase 280Ah cell, that is equivalent of 7 40Ah cells in parallel (and if you really need 8x40, 320Ah cells exist also)

Last edited: