diy solar

diy solar

Parallel Supercapacitors with LFP bank

8_Hz_WAN_IP

I'm a newbie, but I have a semi-advanced question that might inspire a more educated/technical discussion here in the advanced area.

For the past few years, I've assumed that connecting supercaps in parallel to your LFP bank (or any other chemistry) will increase power availability by relieving battery stress during overload conditions, leading to a higher lifecycle count. All this while maintaining high overall system efficiency.

I was wondering if a bank of cheap supercaps (totalling bank voltage) in parallel with an LFP off grid bank has worked for any of your solar applications as far as producing better discharge conditions and lifecycle count increases?

there is no cheap supercap.
if you have " battery stress during overload conditions," you design is bad and must be corrected.
correcting an error by doing another error is a common human behavior.

you just need to increase battery capacity to avoid overload conditions
or reduce load.

A capacitor's internal resistance would be in parallel with the battery's internal resistance. The capacitor's internal resistance would need to be low compared to the battery in order for the capacitor to deliver the majority of the current in a high demand surge. Those type of capacitors are of the type made for high powered pulse laser discharge, rail guns, magnetizing fixtures, and similar uses. Other types of super capacitors have somewhat higher internal resistance and can supply power at a low amp delivery rate better than a high amp rate. So pay close attention to the internal resistance when planning such a build.

Cheaper to just build a bigger battery. In cars this my make sense because of weight and huge load variation on accel and de-accel, along with regen braking. You can easily have a plus and minus instantaneous load change of almost up to 100kw in a car/truck.