diy solar

diy solar

Planning a Tiny Solar System for a Lovely Remote Place [PICS]

peba

TL;DR looking for suggestions on what should I build to power this tiny house where only relatively small appliances will be used like a laptop and a cellphone.

Hey everyone!

Yup, yet another guy asking for guidance from the pros! Well, that would be me :)
I come across this board and thought it would be a good idea to share my story and include some pictures to make this thread a bit more interesting on the long run.

Who am I?

Since this is going to be my first post on this board, let me give you a real quick introduction. My name's Balázs and I'm a 32 yrs old software developer from Hungary. I've been messing with electronics for a few years now, nothing extraordinary but I believe I have a good understanding of how electricity works (both DC and AC). I put my hands on every resource I could find to learn and to understand how this amazing phenomenon works, and man I gotta tell you I just love it, it's so freaking cool! :) I've been playing with Arduinos, ESP boards, I know how to use a multimeter, how to solder, burnt LEDs, resistors and the likes, you get the idea.

While I'm not new to this world, I'm certainly not a professional, more like a hobbyist.

Why am I posting here?

I figured I have enough general knowledge to tinker with electrical gear on my own but every once in a while I need some external help to figure out "what's next". This kind of approach was fruitful before (I was restoring a gaming console) so why wouldn't it be the same with solar? This community here on this board seems to be a solid one, and I'm pretty sure there are amazing people out there willing to help.

Some background