diy solar

diy solar

Planning Ambulance RV solar sys. Need critique. please

JMP

Hello. I am planning an Ambulance RV conversion solar system that will power some high-wattage items like a 9000BTU mini-split AC and a small microwave. This is my first full solar system set up. I have some experience with automotive DC wiring, but not much with residential AC electrical. Below are the components I'm planning on using. Please let me know if I've mis-matched or made any bad choices. THANK YOU :)

MPP all-in-one inverter/charger. 24V 2.7kW Model

4x 250W solar panels (total 1000W)
Undecided on brand/model, but I'm considering these if I can make them fit:

1x EG4-LifePower4 Lithium Battery | 24V 200AH

A few things I have not yet learned is:
- what's the best way to tie in the 24v battery to the 12v vehicle. I know this can be done with a "step-down" unit, but is there a better method used in solar-vehicle applications?

- How do you tie in the vehicle's alternator so that it can supplement the battery charging while driving? Can this just be spliced in to the MPPT input or is additional componentry needed, like a separate DC-DC charger connected straight to the battery?

- Can the solar system also top off the vehicle's AGM starting batteries or would this require a separate charger with a different profile, etc?

Thanks for any tips/pointers/corrections on this idea!

You might be able to save some space by going with new panels, like two of their 390w could end up being about the same output as what those four used panels are putting out.

You'll need a DC-DC converter, Victon makes a nice one.

I'd keep the vehicle's 12v system separate from anything you're trying to do with your solar kit.

Do you have the bus yet?
Most of them are already wired with high output alternators, inverters, etc
So you need to figure out what you have before you invest in new gear.