diy solar

diy solar

Please advise a true NEWB on 24V system

2manyquestions

Hello, everyone.

It appears I am much more of a newb than others here, hence my post in the newcomer section, and my forum handle. On other forums (RC planes, RC cars, and others), I started as a complete newb, some members patiently answered my questions, and I was able to “give back” to other newbs after I gained some experience. I hope to do the same here.

I have attached a mockup of the component wiring diagram I envision, based on my beginner brain. Numbers represent wire gauges, and the one number in a square block is a fuse to the SCC. If I am wrong with how I intend to wire this up, or you have a cleaner way of doing it, your suggestions would be very much appreciated! Please make sure to DUMB DOWN your suggestions for me.

Thus far, I have read through Will’s book on DIY Mobile Solar Power (1st edition) and watched several of his beginner videos.

So, here are my questions:
  • My Big Battery is 24V battery and my solar charge controller and inverter are compatible with this voltage. Is it ok to use a wire gauge chart for a 12V system?
  • My battery comes with an integrated 300 amp fuse…is this in place of the bolt on fuse that typically goes on the positive battery terminal?
  • My Big Battery 24V 202AH battery came with a 175 amp Anderson connector with 6 AWG 105 degree C wires. I am assuming the ones supplied are ok?
  • In some drawings in Will’s book, several (+) or (-) wires “meet together” and continue along one wire, but I don’t exactly know how they are all connected to one. How would that be done for negative wires? And for positive wires (bolt on fuse)? I do not know how to do this.