diy solar

diy solar

Please check my 7 KW off-grid diagram

jsocolof

I'm in the final stages of designing an off-grid system for a cabin. I would appreciate any feedback on the diagram below, specifically wiring gauges, fuses/breakers, etc. The inverters stack to give 3000W/240V AC split phase at the AC distribution panel. The cable length between the inverters and the batteries will be <5 ft one way. The SCC is rated for 250V/70A DC input and charges at 85A DC. The ground will be a new rod 8' long. I would like to be able to add additional arrays, batteries, SCCs, and/or matched inverters if needed. A new array would serve a new SCC. New inverters would connect to the busbars like the existing ones.

1645925437499.png

I'm a pretty big noob, so I'll just put question marks at the end of everything.
Except to say that your diagram is awesome, what software did you use to make this?
As for the diagram, don't you need something heavier than 6 ga coming out of the Charge controller?
Maybe I'm mistaken, but I thought that converted the power down to 48V and it's coming in at 220V with 6 ga...?

what software did you use to make this?
This was drawn with Microsoft Visio. I've also used LucidChart for similar drawings, which I think is free maybe?
don't you need something heavier than 6 ga coming out of the Charge controller?
Not a bad observation. The current and voltage (85A/48V nominal) mean it is probably undersized at 6 ga, and when in doubt...
it's coming in at 220V
The charger is set to produce lowest 55.2V during float, and highest 64.8V during equalization. I used the wire sizing chart here: https://www.altestore.com/diy-solar-resources/wire-sizing-tool-for-12-24-and-48-volt-dc-systems/. 6 ga is good for 75A, or a VDI of 12, so it is clearly undersized. The VDI for me for worst case = 20; 2 ga is good for VDI of 31. I think I'll increase it to 2 ga, which is the largest the SCC can take. Thanks for the catch...