diy solar

diy solar

Please give me your feedback on my system. TYYYY

konst85

Hello, I am fairly new to DIY solar. I purchased the 3kW Stackable 48V 150VDC 80A Off-Grid Inverter by Growatt that Will recommended. I purchased the JK48V100 Server Rack LiFePO4 51.2V 100Ah 5120Wh Smart BMS Rechargeable Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery. Now I am trying to pair this with 3 solar panel's for an off grid system. Attached are the specifications for the solar panels. I want to make the system as simple as possible so I want to arrange the panels in a series. I used the calculator that will recommended but cant decide if the panels are correct and will work in a series with the inverter.

Im open to all feedback. I am here to learn. THANK YOU!! Or if you think another panel will work better let me know. I can pick these up new for $165 each.

Attachments

• Solar Pannel.jpeg
    Solar Pannel.jpeg
    101.8 KB · Views: 12
First, did you establish that the inverter, solar and batteries will meet your electrical needs?

Second, if the inverter you purchased has a 145Voc PV input limit, and you are not in a cold environment (< 0°F), you should be able to series three of those panels.

Last edited:
Assuming a 5120Wh battery and 80% DOD you get 4096Wh. Your 300W load with inverter inefficiencies is about 350W. So you can run your computer for 4096Wh / 350W = 11.7 hours before you need to recharge the battery. This assumes a constant 300W load from the computer.

With 885W of solar and 5 good hours of sun each day you have 4,425Wh of solar on a good summer day. That would be enough to recharge the battery each day but not enough to recharge the battery fully and run the computer during the day. And none of this deals with a cloudy day or two.

So depending on how many hours you actually use the computer each day and the time of day that you use it you may need more battery and/or more solar. It would be a lot cheaper to double your solar panels than buying a second battery.