diy solar

diy solar

Please Help Me Choose a BMS

kenryan

Solar Enthusiast
I am about to pull the trigger on 8 X 280 AH cells to make a 24 volt battery. I will be connecting this battery to a Magnum MS4024-PAE which has a continuous power output rating of 4000 WA. I would not expect to run the inverter at maximum very often, if ever. So I guess 150 amp BMS would be the minimum, but 200 amp might be better.

I would like suggestions on specific BMS that knowledgeable forum members would recommend for my application, along with the best place to buy it.

Thanks!

You sure 150a is sufficient? It should say in the manual for the Magnum what you need to size the DC load for.

For example, I have an MS2812 (2800w @ 12v) and in my manual it shows the following:

1626222712149.png

Here's one I just pulled up on yours:

1626223203767.png

Thanks @Samsonite801 So you think I need 250 or even 300 amp BMS? What do others think? I'm new at this battery building stuff. Seems these LiFePO batteries are usually rated 1C discharge, right? Maybe that is what I should be using to pick my BMS???

Sure no prob all all...

What application is it for? (mobile or stationary)

Does physical size of bank matter, like space constraints?

Will it run at freezing temperatures in the Winter?

I have a MagnaSine MS4024AE, and i confirm it can push 250 amps under load, 2 X 2/0 or 1 strand 4/0 and 300 amp fuse is recommended by Magnum Energy. the AE model is the forerunner of the PAE series, same core inverter, more features.

The Magnum will not have a problem with freezing, I do not think it is wise to let LFP batteries get that cold.

The Magnum will not have a problem with freezing, I do not think it is wise to let LFP batteries get that cold.

I was mainly asking about if he freezes because it may help him in whether he ought to find a BMS which disables charging at freezing (low temp cutoff), to protect the batteries...

Sure no prob all all...