diy solar

diy solar

Please help me to figure out my DALY bms

kenryan

Solar Enthusiast
I received my 300 amp Daly bms yesterday and have a few questions. I know these are dumb questions, but I have never done this before and the "instructions" are so appalling that just don't want to make a stupid mistake.

I am building a 24 volt (8s) battery.

As you can see in the picture, there are two each P- and B- leads. Each one is size 2 AWG.
1. Am I correct in thinking that these are just doubled up for added current carrying capacity and can be treated as single cables?

If you follow the P- lead in the picture instructions, you see it goes to an object that looks like it could be a bus bar. But looking closer it does not seem like it is a bus bar. Instead it appears to be two separate terminals, isolated from each other (P+ and P-).

2. Is that object meant to represent two isolated terminals or a bus bar?

To the right of the P+ / P- object are two more objects (Motor/Load and Charger). There is an indication that there is a connection between these objects and the P+ and P- leads, respectively.

3. Am I correct in assuming that the diagram is meant to show that the positive cable on the load side of the system goes to P+ and the positive cable on the charge side of the system goes to P-?

FYI the instructions appear to be for two different styles of BMS -- "regular" and "smart" with the smart version apparently having bluetooth output. I do not have the smart version, but I am supposed to have temperature protection.

The BMS came with the leads shown in the second picture. I understand that the group of 8 leads are the balance leads and I think I understand how to connect them. But I am unclear as to when it is okay to plug these leads into the BMS.

4. Does it matter when the balance leads are plugged into the BMS?