diy solar

diy solar

Please Review/Critique My Plan

sunrise

I am very new to this, and this is the first version.

I am adding a 200W (I might add one more panel if roof space permits) solar system to my 16' travel trailer

2 4s 100A battery banks will be using JBD smart BMSs each. Note I don't want to draw over 100A from them as I think the existing inverter won't handle more than 100A, hence the 100A main switch and main fuse.

Note I didn't include wire gauge in this diagram, as I haven't figure out the length of the wires yet.

Thanks!Solar Schematics.png

What is the continuous watt rating of the inverter?
Make sure there is no loop between the inverter and the converter.

What is the continuous watt rating of the inverter?
Make sure there is no loop between the inverter and the converter.

I don't plan to mess with existing inverter and converter wiring, I hope I will be able to find existing lead-acid battery connectors and replace with the main outputs of the new LiFePo4 batteries.

My trailer has not been delivered yet, once it arrives I will know more. but for now I will have to work with the information I have.

I took the liberty to make a simplified version of you diagram
I added a shunt
Code:
primitives {
    |F| busbar fused position
    |U| busbar un-fused position
    <- uni-directional current flow
    -> uni-directional current flow
    <-> bi-directional current flow
    | aggregation point
}

batteries {
    pos = battery1.pos<->battery2.pos
    neg = battery2.neg<->battery1.neg
}
system {
    |F|<->batteries.pos              |<-panel1
    |F|<-victron<-breaker<-combiner<-|<-panel2
    |F|<->existing_trailer
    |F|->shunt_power

|U|<->shunt<->batteries.neg      |->panel1
    |U|<-victron---------->combiner->|->panel2
    |U|<->existing_trailer
}

I took the liberty to make a simplified version of you diagram
I added a shunt
Code:
primitives {
    |F| busbar fused position
    |U| busbar un-fused position
    <- uni-directional current flow