diy solar

diy solar

Please Review My System Schematic for Errors

GMB

Solar Enthusiast
I want to check and make sure this is good to go before I start assembly. All parts are here sans the batteries that are still in transit from China. Please review for any errors and let me know your thoughts. Not listed is a BMS for the batteries. I am waiting for Steve_S to get his Chargery unit hooked up and a review done before I order since I am new to battery building and would like to mimic his build. Until then I will hook up a battery low voltage monitor with an alarm buzzer - just in case, and also monitor daily with multimeter. The goal is to run the AC unit during the summer for about 15-20 minutes every hour as needed to cool an insulated small room (only during the day; it's cool at night where I am). The freezer units pull about 350 watts when the motor kicks on and the one rigged as a refrigerator barely ever kicks on, so I believe this will be more than enough solar and battery to keep it all going. I am in Arizona with ample sunshine. I will also put in an earth ground and make sure everything is grounded properly. Note - the font makes a 5 look like a 3, but I have (10) 350 watt panels in total.

Solar Mock Up.jpg

Last edited:
Looks Good, but for one thing. You have AWG 2 for battery to Inverter would be much better if you used 2/0 NOT AWG 2. My first 3kw system was quite similar and believe me, when I say use 2/0.

BTW, I AM running a Chargery BMS8T with the ShunBin Pack I have installed and it works exactly as It should, even the low temp cutoff works as I tested it. I do have two more I will be using with my 24V/280AH packs I'm building and I have another one to order yet for when I split the ShunBin pack up into independent 175AH packs.

Reactions: GMB
Some considerations: