diy solar

diy solar

Please Review Noob Wiring Diagram

maletomango

Hello,

I have no experience with solar or electric at all. I just completed my wiring diagram (link below) for my van and I would greatly appreciate any feedback and recommendations. The battery, solar panels, and alternator isolator all came with the van when I purchased it, so I sort of planned around those.

The fuse and wiring for the battery are sized so that I can upgrade to a 200AH AGM deep cycle battery in the future if/when I need to.

A note on the Fridge- the manufacturer states that it uses 250W per 24 hrs and it is rated at 60W. A review states that on hot days it can consume a max of 25-30A (300-360W) per 24 hrs.

Power Audit: 600W usable battery capacity

(High estimations)

Fridge: 360W
Lights: 20W
Roof Fan: 100W
Computer Fan: 24W
Laptop: 100W
Phone: 10W
=524W

Wiring Diagram

https://docs.google.com/drawings/d/1RYJO1x1fIQf-m7oi0D9RJLwWDaHvReq0W2P31__D8iA/edit?usp=sharing

Parts List

I'm concerned about the keyline charger circuit
4 awg upstream and downstream​
140 amp fuse upstream​
150 amp fuse downsream​
20 feet(assuming 40 feet round trip)​

How much current are you really expecting on this circuit?
How a lead acid house battery pull anything like those kind of amps?
According to this calculator in order to get 3% voltage given 13 volts, 40 feet and 140 amps you need 3/0 awg wire.

Unless the charger has voltage sense leads I suggest you put the charger close to the house battery to minimize voltage drop where it counts.
The supply side can compensate the charge side can't unless it knows the voltage at the battery terminals.

Hey there,

Thanks for your feedback! I understand your concern. The keyline charger/isolator was one of the things that was installed when I got my van. It looks like the kit for the isolator came with 7AWG, but the previous owners opted for 4AWG. The entire circuit is max 20 feet. I found the following information on the manufacturer website: