diy solar

diy solar

pls explain me thermal runaway

oxyopes

Hi,
every resource I found tells me to use thermal insulation against thermal runaway (overheating) on my LiFePO4 batteries.

My definition of thermal runaway is that the battery starts to generate more heat than it can dissipate.

Thus thermal connection should be the solution, not thermal isolation. Using thermal isolation indeed accelerates the runaway, right?

Did I get it all wrong?

Thx!

I’m no pro in this field but my understanding is that one cell catches on fire and the heat from that fire catches the adjoining cells on fire till everything flammable is burning. Certain lithium chemistries produce noteworthy amounts of oxygen marking the event even more spectacular. On junkyard had a Tesla start on fire and the fire department got so tired of repeatedly returning to the same car that had rekindled it’s fire that they finally dug a huge hole filled it with water and dumped the car in it.

There might be spots where a heat shield should be used. No reason to insulate in a protected space at livable temperatures.

Thermal runaway is generally a battery that is pushed so hard the internal energy is igniting the materials creating more heat such that even when isolated for safety the battery continues to self ignite and burn using internal energy.

... I agree with you all on those points, but my question is still open :-/

Thermal runaway is not just a cell catching fire because e.g. the electrolyte vents and ignites. It's a cell heating up because the internal chemistry causes an uncontrollable self-heating process, which in turn releases more energy and increases temperature further. This can lead to fire, or explosion.