diy solar

diy solar

Pole Barn Solution Suitable for Cold Weather (MN)

tbarkermn

Total newb here, 1st post. Been watching tons of great solar content on You Tube from awesome folks like Will :). That said, I'm getting a little overwhelmed by all the options and details. I'm looking for an economical yet practical solar solution for my off-grid pole barn in central MN. One of the areas I'm struggling with is how to deal with the cold and batteries. The pole shed is not heated or insulated and currently has no power connected. And in MN it gets really really cold and solar in winter is a bit limiting. Some details about what I'm hoping to accomplish -

1) I'd like to have enough power to add some LED lighting to the building for occasional use. The building is large, 40x60x14, so I figure I'll need quite a few lights. Just for giggles if I find a 20W light and get 20 of them, that's ~400 watts. Lighting is my primary objective at the moment (but don't want to totally limit myself down the road
2) would be nice to be able to plug in a power tool from time to time
3) Possible a garage door opener....

Worth noting, this is on a property that I visit about once a week so my power needs are pretty dispersed. At most a few hours a week.

I'm looking for some advice and size of system and also what battery chemistry and setup would be best for very cold environment. I'm assuming I'll need to heat the batteries somehow which will require power as well. I also realize that LED lighting may not work so great when it gets sub-zero but I'll just have to deal with that I suppose.

Appreciate thoughts, suggestions.

Does the building have a cellar? Can you get one installed? Like a service pit or something?
A 8’deep cellar with a door should keep batteries warm enough.
Otherwise, you are going to need lead acid, and be ABSOLUTELY certain they stay above 80% charge in winter…

Does the building have a cellar? Can you get one installed? Like a service pit or something?