diy solar

diy solar

Positive ground PWM charge controller question

Prescott

Hi, I've got a question about positive ground PMW charge controllers. I'd like to install an inline fuse and a cut off switch between my 30 amp HQST charge controller and the PV panels (2 100 watt Newpowa compact panels) This charge controller is a positive ground. Normally, if this was a negative ground controller, I think I should put the fuse on the positive cable running from the PV panels and the cutoff on the negative cable, but does the fact the charge controller is a positive ground change either of those placements?

Also, with a positive ground controller, can I still safely put a second cut off switch on the cable between the battery's negative post and the vehicle chassis, in order to kill all the circuits powered by the battery, and an inline fuse on the battery's positive cable that powers my fuse block?

This system is being installed on a vehicle with a chassis ground.

I'm a real newbie with all of this, so i appreciate any and all advice. Thanks!!!

This system is being installed on a vehicle with a chassis ground.
Just to be clear, this is a vehicle where the chassis ground is positive and not negative?

I have never dealt with positive ground before, but positive ground can be used in some applications, I hear for pipes, or some foreign vehicles may come that way.

Hi, thanks for responding! The vehicle's factory-installed electric system is negative grounded to the chassis and powered by an alternator. I'm adding a PV system that will be isolated from the factory electrical system - except for sharing the chassis as the ground.