diy solar

diy solar

Power supply system for 3 purposes

Camp20144

I’m new to this and trying to design a system with three purposes in mind.
1) just run my cpap (home power outages) and 1-3 night camping/fishing trips
2) longer camping/fishing more power requirements, longer power outages
3) camping with the addition of a 2200 Watt inverter with 30Amp camper plug

Purpose (1) is as simple as a battery (or 2 batteries) and a 12 volt cigarette socket (I have 12 volt dc power cord for cpap)
Purpose (2) is one or two batteries and maybe 200 watts of solar
Purpose (3) is two batteries, 2200 watt inverter and up to 400 watts of solar (camping in camper possibly using more 12 volt and some 110 volt)

As I move up through (1) to (3) the increased power requires larger sizing of power handling components (wiring, fuses, etc). In consideration of (2) and (3), can I size wire and fuses to meet Purpose (3) and if my power needs fall within Purpose (2) just connect one or two batteries and maybe 200 watts of solar? I’m wondering if I can size/take the system to meet my anticipated needs when I know I don’t need the “full meal deal” (400 watts solar and inverter)?

If the system components are sized to handle the 2200 watt inverter, 400 watts of solar and more 12 volt loads, do I need to have all 400 watts of solar and the inverter connected if it will not be used? I think the answer is “No”, but I want to verify that is correct.

Thank you in advance,
Mark

if I can size/take the system to meet my anticipated needs
Have you done an energy audit to be able to quantify your needs in terms of watt hours per day?
From here, everything else can be worked out, including amount of solar panels.
What are your anticipated AC loads (amps and watt/amp hours)?

@MisterSandals Thank you for your reply
I’ve not done an energy audit.