diy solar

diy solar

Precut busbar suppliers? Bus bar length?

tazzytazzy

Got my 280ah batteries from Amy. Packed very well. However, it's missing bus bars and screws, so I'm doing a bit of extra DIY. I'm new to metal working and such.

I'm looking for bus bars and it seems this website will cut to any length, is this a common thing? Copper 110 bus bars measuring 3/16 x 3/4 x 4, quantity of 7 comes to $3.82ea, plus $10 total shipping.

Some questions:
1) My eve 280ah batteries have a thickness of 71.5mm(2.81 inches). How long should the bus bars be? I am guessing around 101mm (4 inches).
2) Is this a decent price? This doesn't include drilling holes which I can do.
3) Do I have to worry about a supplier and it's quality? How would I check this? Maybe over thinking that.

Here's the website: https://www.midweststeelsupply.com/store/110copperflatbar

Anyone have a known supplier that will provide precut bars or should I just go for this one?

Thanks

I've purchased aluminum from Midwest Steel Supply. Quantity 8 of 2"x1/8"x8' aluminum flat bar. It took a little longer than I expected, but the price was better than my previous supplier. They did a better job packaging for shipment too. Midwest was upfront about extended shipping times, so it wasn't like it was a surprise.

I buy my stock in 72" lengths when it's being shipped. Your price of $3.82 each is pretty good.

When you drill your holes, they should be elongated slightly to allow for a small amount of battery expansion. This can be argued as being unnecessary if the cells are in a compression frame. I doubt that my cells are moving much, if at all, in my compression frame. If that's the case, why would I bother to elongate the hole?

I'll be making aluminum bus bars for my batteries soon. I've had the bar stock for a while, just haven't had good enough weather to get it done. My "plan" at this time is to drill holes that are slightly oversized instead of elongated.