diy solar

diy solar

Preparing ground to a successful dispute on Alibaba in case of issues

ephestione

Hello nice people
I just came out of an adventure on Aliexpress, before getting to know this forum.
Long story short, got ripped by the infamous (I now realize) Ogreen, but joke was on them, won a long dispute and ended up paying ~960$ for 16 cells which were not "brand new grade A 280AH" as advertised, but rather ETC 240AH which had from 170 to 199AH left in them.

Now I'm about to place an order on Alibaba, found a 2yrs old seller with almost 40 feedbacks, proposing to sell 16 EVE 304AH for a gross 42c/AH including DDP (plus transaction fees). Sent a picture of said cell.

It is good, but not "too good to be true". And if I get not-EVE, and/or not-brand-new cells that still test over 304AH I'll probably be cool with it.

While I have experience on how to deal with Aliexpress disputes, I have never ordered on Alibaba before; I get the hang of it, I studied plenty, I know it is important to place everything in the contract first, at the "start order" phase, so then in case of issues, you have a clear case for the dispute, still, do you have experience with a situation where the seller is less than honest?

Any tips on how to deal with it? Other than filling the exact capacity, and QR requirement in "additional details", maybe also laying out what amount of refund you expect in case order is not as described? Anything else?

I could go with Quishou and 280AH at 44c/AH, but that wouldn't change much as I'd still be asking you the same thing ;-)

6CADE9AD2FAD05461C125A959819FB62.jpg

Why not purchase from the commonly used sources on this site?

Sorry, but the joke is still solidly on you.

$960 for cells past end-of-life (<80% rated capacity) is a lose-lose. You still paid about 90% the going rate ($101 vs. $110-120/kWh) for new cells but got ragged out end-of-life cells that are very unlikely to last anything near their rated cycle life.