diy solar

diy solar

Proposed 24v Motorhome Solar System

SunRunLandYacht

WonderYonder
Proposed 24v Solar System for fulltime retired explorer couple with 35’ 50amp Motorhome RV (mh). I think this setup will handle the majority of our living environments or we will adapt &/or change altitude. I am new to solar and would very much appreciate constructive advice and suggestions. I want to do this right, the first time and feel safe sleeping with it.

Solar Panels = 2800w: 7- 400w Trina or other 40”x 80” 45v @ 9.74a solar panels. Six mounted above roof of the mh and one deployable on roof of tow vehicle. All panels will be wired in parallel (45v @ 58 to 68amps) to minimize effects of shading at, available boondock campsites in National Parks or other. Solar is maxed out so usage will be adjusted as needed.

24v Solar Controller = Victron 150/100 or other that will handle the 68amp input with safety margin. Are there better alternatives?

Battery Bank = 2 – Big Battery 24v 170ah Power Blocks in parallel = 8kWh already ordered and shipping 11-20-20. Might add another Power Block or cut consumption as usage dictates.