diy solar

diy solar

Randall is new to the forum but an experienced electrician

RandallCothren

Hi all, My Bride of 35 years and I are full-time RV people for 5 years now. We have a fifth wheel. We are camp hosts sometimes with full hookups. Sometimes we wander around the US. Sometimes we boondock. I have solar on the roof. a Renogy solar 40 amp rover controller and a 3,000-watt inverter. There is a honda 3000 on the dually. In the rig, the generator or the inverter or shore power is hardwired in via two transfer switches.

I want to list my equipment below then ask a question. I am an electrician by trade but I am new to lithium. Please keep replies to very technical. On some forums people will respond as follows: I don’t know much about what you’re saying but my guess would be …. I would really like to avoid those types of responses.

I recently purchased four 3.2v 280ah deep cycle lifepo4 battery cells lithium which I will connect in series. This will create 12.8 volts. I also purchased a 150 amp BMS already and I will hook it up properly.

I have a 2018 RV that came with a 75 amp Progressive Dynamics PD4575K118L charger which is a lead-acid only converter I have determined it does not have a lithium setting.

I contacted Progressive said I should just buy the PD4575LICSV replacement for 350.00. It is a single-stage charger that creates 14.6 volts.

I could buy it but that would not be so thrifty when my converter is brand new.

The core is the same for all these models but the profile is created by a circuit board.

120 volts AC in rectified to 120 volts DC out. Then a high wattage transformer goes from 120 v DC to

14.6 v DC.