diy solar

diy solar

Re-purposed UPS as Inverter

I have a UPS fetish with four different systems, three are APC. Show & Tell. This is what I’ve learned so far:
  1. Only the APC “XL” models are rated for continuous operation. You can easily identify by the rear external battery connector.
  2. Most other consumer UPS’s are designed to overheat shortly after the internal batteries are depleted. Running the non-XL UPS at minimal power, or adding fans to get around the heat issue won’t work. As stated above, the UPS will still shutdown based on a timer.
  3. The XL will automatically recalculate expanded battery capacity when using AGM. I have no experience (yet) powering with LiPo.
  4. The APC battery display is expecting a normal AGM voltage range. If you connect to solar, the higher battery voltage will manifest as one blinking bar. It's not indicating low battery. Show & Tell.
  5. Higher battery voltage can affect the APC capacitors (the little ones, not the big H-bridge ones). This affected my 2700W unit that will no longer boot. My to-do list is to replace them and see if it works.
  6. If you want a reliable pure-sine, low-frequency inverter a used UPS is your cheapest method.
My BIG apc 2500XL Is my favorite. It was a monster huge unit about 30” tall, and weighed a ton.
I ripped the thing apart, put the board in a little suitcase, and am working on setting it up for more portable use.

My BIG apc 2500XL Is my favorite. It was a monster huge unit about 30” tall, and weighed a ton.
I ripped the thing apart, put the board in a little suitcase, and am working on setting it up for more portable use.
Great minds think alike. Once I repair my beloved 3000XL beast the plan is to remount the heavy transformers in my golf cart chassis, and make a portable box for the circuit board. The LF design can easily start any power tool where my HF Reliable 2500W struggles.

Attachments

• ups.jpg
    ups.jpg
    97.8 KB · Views: 8
Last edited: