diy solar

diy solar

Recommendation on a Watt Meter?

gamerscircle

I am very new to Solar, using my new Multimeter and I am shopping around for some used Solar Panels. I saw a YT where someone was doing what I was doing, but was using a Watt Meter similar to: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B088KVWD9Q , but this one has really bad reviews. Any suggestions? I know I can use my meter, just don't want to make a mistake is all.

Are you thinking that thing will work by just hooking them up to panels to test? If so it will not do such. Still needs a load (i.e. charge controller).

Are you trying to test, or looking for something to tell you such when you install? If the later, most beter charge controllers have this built in.

For testing panels, you can use a multimeter and check the Voc and reference that to spec.

Yes, I was hoping to plug in and get the information so that I could see if the used panels were good enough or not. I will do what you suggested and with the meter. Thank you again for the advice.

Yes, I was hoping to plug in and get the information so that I could see if the used panels were good enough or not. I will do what you suggested and with the meter. Thank you again for the advice.
Voc of a panel is not a great test

You really need a load test and an irradiance meter And a manufacturers output graph. ☺️

I am on a budget, put all the $$ into the controller, battery and inverter. I respect you advice, but I think the best I can do is use a mater and compare what is on the back of the panel.

I am on a budget, put all the $$ into the controller, battery and inverter. I respect you advice, but I think the best I can do is use a mater and compare what is on the back of the panel.
Maybe you need something like this : https://www.google.co.za/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwiLnaSm4N35AhV1QEEAHcxsA2kQFnoECAgQAQ&url=https://www.era-energytech.com/product/elejoy-pv-panel-multimeter/&usg=AOvVaw06lusPEFLT2xm0UxmhKWLr