diy solar

diy solar

Recommendations for 40ft. Fifth Wheel System

j_a_wolfe

Looking for recommendations for parts to build and install a solar system for my RV. I'd like enough storage to run the usual suspects when boondocking for at least 2 days without sun. I would like to be able to charge the battery bank from pv source or 125VAC. I would prefer to build the battery bank from cells and add the necessary controls and protections myself. I'm an absolute novice to pv systems but I held a Journeyman's Electrical license. Cost is an issue but not the primary issue. I'm looking for reliability and longevity as well as a little flexibility for upgrades down the road.
Can anyone help a brother out?

Jim

Need to know what your power consumption is before this project can start.

You can estimate this by rated power consumption and usage time per day or you can straight up hook up a meter and measure what you use for that two days (or more).

Well an air conditioner be used? TVs? Vent fans? Lighting?

The system energy audit and sizing spreadsheet that is in the Resources section of the forum is a great place to start. You need to know how much juice you pull so you know how much battery and PV to put in.

Looking for recommendations for parts to build and install a solar system for my RV. I'd like enough storage to run the usual suspects when boondocking for at least 2 days without sun. I would like to be able to charge the battery bank from pv source or 125VAC. I would prefer to build the battery bank from cells and add the necessary controls and protections myself. I'm an absolute novice to pv systems but I held a Journeyman's Electrical license. Cost is an issue but not the primary issue. I'm looking for reliability and longevity as well as a little flexibility for upgrades down the road.
Can anyone help a brother out?

Jim
Mine is a very small 7 x 14 (compared to yours) but my goals were similar - e.g. max Solar + DIY battery.

Suggestions: