diy solar

diy solar

Recommended Solar Panels

petebridge

Hi all,

I'm looking for some solar panels to charge my home backup system.

I purchased the Zendure's Superbase V system on Kickstarter, as it seemed the easiest for me as a total beginner to have all the components in one unit.

I got 2 x the Superbase V4600 base units (the LiFePO4 version) and 2 x the B4600 expansion batteries. So chaining that together I will have 7600W output at 240v and 18.432 kWh capacity.

Each unit can accept 3000W solar input at 10-150Voc. Realistically I can probably only afford on 3000W array to start.

I'm in southern Ontario, Canada.

I've done some research on panels as a next step but still feeling baffled by the variety of options out there.

Two options I've considered so far, based on brands I saw cited as being reputable + good ratio of cost per watts:
Am I headed in the right direction? Appreciate any guidance.

Says 3000W, 10-150VDC input. Need to know the current limit.

Manual?

Both panels are 72 cell meaning you're limited to 2 in series to stay under the 150V limit. To get near the 3000W limit, you'd need 2S3P arrays for both.

You might get more optimal results with 60 cell panels as you can go 3S with those and drive to higher voltage.

@sunshine_eggo

Thanks a lot for the response - super helpful.

Need to know the current limit.

I don't have that unfortunately - will see if I can find it. I don't have the manual yet as the units are still in production and I don't have them yet.

For my education, what is the difference between the current limit differ and the Voc limit?

Both panels are 72 cell meaning you're limited to 2 in series to stay under the 150V limit. To get near the 3000W limit, you'd need 2S3P arrays for both.

That's an amazing tip - I never would have realized. I'll do some more digging. Thanks!

EDIT: Actually I may not understand the link between the # of cells and having 2 or 3 panels in series.