diy solar

diy solar

Renogy 2000 watt inverter to battery bank

Trimmer5

I have a 2000 watt renogy inverter, and a 50amp DCtoDC renogy . my Q is I have been using 4 ga. wire , but the inverter came with its own cables to hook to the battery bank. I will have 400 amps of lithium. I have the suggested 250amp fuse. dont know how to use it. the cables that came with the inverter seem to be double 4 ga. for pos. and neg. So the Q is should I make a heavier pos cable to connect the fuse to the inverter. or do I use the 4ga I have used for all the other connections. My gut tells me I should use the same size wire to connect the inverter to the fuse that came with the inverter, which looks to be double 4 ga.. And what ga. should I use to be safe.
Thank you for any help.

I'm no expert by any means, but there are two things you need to understand when you start. You choose the diameter of wire you use by the maximum current it will need to carry as well as the voltage drop that will occur over the length of the wire. You then choose the value of the fuse for that wire based on the amount of current it can safely handle. In short, the device on the other end of a wire and the distance to that device tell you how big your wire needs to be. Then, the size of the wire tells how what fuse to use.

You may already know this, but it's worth mentioning that in the American Wire Gauge (AWG) system of labeling, as the diameter of the wire gets bigger, the number gets smaller. In real life, I've only seen even numbered gauges. Common ones used in solar go from 10 AWG, 8 AWG, etc. down to 0 AWG. Then you start adding more zeros with 00 AWG (commonly written as 2/0 and pronounced two-aught), 0000 AWG (also 4/0 and four-aught), etc.