diy solar

diy solar

Review my 24v off grid system and solar panel recommendations.

poly11

Hi, complete beginner here. We bought a holiday cabin that has an old existing solar system in place, which we would pretty much like to rip out and start anew.

Our required loads are quite low, and we're only there roughly 2 weekends per month, perhaps longer in the summer.
- Water pump ~15 mins per day. (Not sure on the watt load of this)
- LED lights
- USB WIFI router (preferably kept on all the time)
- Occasional phone charging

We're planning to build a system similar to Will Prose's 24v system: https://www.mobile-solarpower.com/2000-watt-24v-solar-system.html

2x 12v 100AH Ampere Time Batteries in series for 24v 200AH
Victron 100/50 MPPT charge controller
- 60Amp circuit breaker
Victron Smartshunt
24v 2000w Giandel Inverter
- 125Amp fuse connected close to the battery's positive
12/24V USB Car charger
2x 150Amp Bus bars

24V to 12V step down and 12V fuse block is not needed yet, might add it later when we start hooking up lights to this.
We'll have a gas generator for emergencies.

We plan to use a RaspberryPI via VE Direct and a USB router for remote connection via WIFI and internet.

So far after plenty of research we've come up with the following wiring and fuse requirements.

null.png

Sweden, plenty of sun in the summer, barely any in winter.
Coldest in winter is a average of -1 to -5 degrees Celsius.
Summer ~ 25 degrees Celsius.

Questions:
  • Are the wire sizing accurate? (4awg between batteries and to inverter/ 6awg from bus bar to MPPT)
  • Are the fuse size sufficient for the wire and load sizes (2000w inverter at 24v ~123A. Is a 125A fuse cutting it too close, and should I go for a 150A fuse)?