diy solar

diy solar

Review of 12v solar system with DIY lithium

Fryguy1111

Hello. I apologize for the long post, but I am a total beginner at this but have been reading and researching building a lithium system for a boat. I'll be retiring in a few years and my wife and I bought a boat in Mexico and I'm going to be upgrading her for us to move aboard in a couple of months. Sometimes in a marina with shore power and sometimes on the hook, being self-sufficient.

First of all, there is an existing solar system (2 x 250w panels) and 2 banks batteries made up of 2 x 6v/225AH Trojan lead-acid batteries. So there's a total of 450AH in two 12v/225AH banks. The existing solar charge controller is a Blue Sky Energy Solar Boost 3000i 12v 30/22 amp MPPT controller. My calculations show that this setup wasn't the best, but folks can correct me if I'm wrong (I'm still learning). I figured that 500w/12v= 42A. So my solar charge controller should have be rated for a minimum of 42A...preferrably 60A. Again, let me know if I'm barking up the wrong tree...

Currently, all 4 of the 6v batteries are 100% dead as the boat was sitting unused for almost 3 years when I bought it just a couple of months ago. Hence, this is my opportunity to upgrade the entire system :).

To get the most for my money, I plan on going the DIY lithium battery route. I've researched my options and found some 3.2v/280AH cells that will fit my needs. Here's what I want to build her out to:

3 x 250 watt solar panels for 750 total watts
1120AH of lithium batteries - 4 x 12v/280AH packs
Solar Charge Controller - 750w/12v=63A - use an 80A controller?

Question #1, am I sizing the solar charge controller properly? Any recommendations on makes or models?