diy solar

diy solar

RFI quiet 24v-12v DC-DC converter recommendations

K8MEJ

Owner, Off-Grid Power Systems
Apologies if this isn't the right sub-forum for this question. I'm new here.

I'm planning for an off-grid solar + LiFePO4 + inverter/charger system for my travel trailer with the new system running a nominal 24v. To power my existing 12v accessories (tongue jack, electric brakes breakaway system, 12v accessories running from existing DC fuse block) with a 24v-12v DC-DC step down converter. I am a ham radio operator that likes to operate when I go camping myself or when performing STEM demonstrations for Scout events. Consequently, I need to build a system that generates as little radio frequency interference as possible. That's challenging when you consider that the charger & inverter circuitry are both switch-mode power converters and so is a DC-DC converter. All switch-mode power supplies generate a lot of harmonics that create havoc on the HF ham bands. There are FCC Part 15(b) Class B certified, which are supposed to be well filtered to limit the amount of RFI generated. Based on this, I have two questions for the collective intelligence here:

1. Does anyone know of a 24v-12v DC-DC converter that is well filtered for RFI? I can't find anything in the 40-60amp range that holds an FCC Part 15(b) Class B certification. If you have experience with a DC-DC converter that is RFI quiet please let me know.

2. If I build such a system, is there any concern with the low-current 12v power supply coming in to the camper from the tow vehicle via the 7-pin connector? In other words, can the 24v-12v converter handle another 12v power source on the 12v side of the converter?

Thank you in advance,
Ed Jones