diy solar

diy solar

Rheem Solar hot water tanks experience?

Its straight up water heater not the hybrid model I have just a 80 gallon tank with 4 taps from solar water loops on panels on roof-it also has electric elements (usually you add them as most come ready but none installed)I had one for 25-30 years before it gave out now I have one thats 10 years old and another spare one when that one gives out.

Last edited:
I have a 50gal Rheem from Home Depot. I'm in my 3rd year of operation and works great + got 50% off due to rebates and sale.

I run heat-pump mode only (400w) but it has a touch screen (and remote app) to switch to 'regular' heating element mode (4500w) or a mix. Heat-pump mode takes about 3hrs to heat up 60F (cold water) tank to 120F. Heating element is 45min? - much faster but takes 4500w of power.
Highly recommend heat-pump hot water in general and my Rheem has been A-OK :)

Power consumption context:
* Heat-pump only mode maxes out at 400-450w - very gentle on the inverter. (I'm off-grid)
* It's under the house with ambient 55F/13C winter and 75F/24C summer temps - so it works a little harder than if in an attic in summer.
* There are 2 of us - 2 loads of laundry, 8 showers / week, 4 dishwasher runs / week - lighter use than a family of 4.
* We have 200ft of water circulation (it's a large house) for 'instant' hot water at the taps which takes extra power by some amount - not sure how much - maybe 20% extra.

Here are the kwh per month for 2020 and 2021...
1649640038995.png

Last edited:
Anyone have one of these?
Yeah.... about 15 years ago. I didn't realize they still made them.

It's a nice way to do solar water heating but drain back is better from a failsafe standpoint. The failure more for drain back results in the panel(s) being drained so there's a no chance for stagnation if the pump fails, the power goes out or when the storage tank has hit it high limit.

Yeah.... about 15 years ago. I didn't realize they still made them.