diy solar

diy solar

Run a Solar Outback/Radian on 48v Super Caps?

Systems Planet

Shenzhen Toomen claims they are coming out with new Carbon Capacitor cells in 3Q-2020 that have:
20.0Ah 25000F 4.0VDC 120mm x 200mm form factor. Full spec attached.

I emailed Shenzhen Toomen to obtain 20 of their new cells for a 6 month evaluation.
The goal is to create a drop in replacement for deep marine batteries.

I'm looking for someone smart to point me to an engineer, equipment, and docs I need to figure this out.
- how to charge these guys
- how to discharge them
- how to wire them for 48volts for a Outback Radian storage.
- how to program the mate3 to support the capacitor: float, discharge, etc.

BACKGROUND
I am building a 15 KW Outback Radian FLEXmax 80 grid-tied ground mount solar system
for our new home by end of this year. I designed and built a 5kW Outback Radian system about 10yrs ago for my house.
It uses 100% maintenance-free AGM batteries.
I have a computer degree from GA Tech and 30yrs experience hacking stuff.

I'm pretty handy, but do need help if there's anyone out there with experience charging/discharging super capacitors.
I'd prefer to fail fast, if this won't work, so I can switch to something more traditional.

thanks.

Attachments

• Carbon-based-power-capacitor-Datasheet_12062019.pdf
    537.4 KB · Views: 13
Short Answer: Look for a traditional approach

Long Answer:
The first issue you'll run into is one of the ways batteries and capacitors differ:

Capacitors

1593101622721.png
1593100162965.png

So, while a battery is discharging it's power the voltage is relatively stable. A capacitor's voltage doesn't hold steady as it discharges.

A device like the FLEXmax 80 can only work above a certain voltage, so you need some sort of voltage regulation to get all the power out of the capacitor when the voltage is low. It can be done, but it's not a simple drop in replacement.