diy solar

diy solar

Running new wiring circuits along side existing RV wiring(?)

jpmtz

I'm converting a cargo trailer and I have a question about running the DC wiring. Naturally, it's powered by a 7-pin connector... I'm guessing I should leave all the wiring for exterior lights (brakes, turning, clearance, etc.) in place and undisturbed(?) One question I have is about the two factory-installed interior lights; should they be disconnected from the existing factory wiring and just added to the new circuits that I'll be running from a DC distribution box? I'm a Youtube-trained amateur electrician and I'm concerned about back-feeding DC through the 7-pin connector. (I'm installing an all-in-one solar power system, btw.) So, my grand scheme is to run all new wiring in this trailer for lights, outlets, etc. while leaving the existing factory wiring in place. (POINTERS, TIPS/TRICKS, AND ADVICE ARE APPRECIATED.)

I would disconnect them from the black wire in the 7 pin otherwise when you are disconnected from the truck those won’t work. I would check every connection on the exterior lights. I had a clearance light quit working on the way home from picking it up. The connection in question is not behind the upper cabinets on the left. It would be devastating trying to get to now. I ended up replacing all the exterior light wiring except the 7 wire cable that ran underneath and soldered all connections. Also I left the break emergency battery on the hitch. My trailer battery is 24 volt.

Attachments

• E18AA136-262B-498D-B5EC-3D4E3DF37AE5.jpeg
    E18AA136-262B-498D-B5EC-3D4E3DF37AE5.jpeg
    270 KB · Views: 4
  • B8C740E0-05D4-4DFF-AE92-D0A8642701A7.jpeg
    B8C740E0-05D4-4DFF-AE92-D0A8642701A7.jpeg
    307.1 KB · Views: 4
  • 53DA54DB-1B55-4644-921C-009688FF8A84.jpeg
    53DA54DB-1B55-4644-921C-009688FF8A84.jpeg
    253.5 KB · Views: 5
One option is to not do any dc distribution at all in this type of "from scratch" build.