diy solar

diy solar

RV setup

Rhavin

Hello everyone. I am working on planning a solar setup. I have little knowledge beyond the very basics for this stuff, but I like DIY and learning. I got a quote from an installer who wants 18k for a battle born/victron setup. I realize most of that is equipment cost. I got to watching some of Will’s videos, and being a beginner I am interested in the all-in-one setups. I have attached a photo of my planned diagram. If anyone is willing to take the time to look it over and let me know if I’m close, off the mark, tips, etc. thanks.

Attachments

• 7CF9A525-7FD9-4E17-9FD3-5B3E95018DF8.jpeg
    7CF9A525-7FD9-4E17-9FD3-5B3E95018DF8.jpeg
    311.6 KB · Views: 31
Looks good at the basic level shown. Although I recommend going with 24v batteries instead of 2x 12v in series.
Actually I just stuck with 12v to avoid step down and step up converters.

Looks good at the basic level shown. Although I recommend going with 24v batteries instead of 2x 12v in series.
Actually I just stuck with 12v to avoid step down and step up converters.
Thanks. Would a setup like this need any additional bus bars or fuses between the batteries or solar and the all-in-one?

Why 24v batteries instead of in series?

What kind of RV and what is currently installed?
That's going to help determine what voltage you need to run.
In my case, we were already deep in 12v gear, so I kept it 12v, as it was easier to deal with.

Just looking at the diagram, I'd go with an all in one inverter that included the transfer switch, and just put a automatic surge protector in front of the shore connection. That would simplify the wiring and give integrated control, fewer boxes, fewer connections, less points of failure.