diy solar

diy solar

Sailboat power installation

Tom Long

I am in the process of outfitting a 36’ sailboat for cruising. I was planning on installing a 400 watts wind generator, 600 to 800 watts of solar panels and be able to charge the house bank with the alternator when needed, I will install 5 100AH lithium iron batteries as the house bank. Keep the standard lead acid battery for the starting battery. I have read about duel power controllers that the solar panels and wind generator hook up to, but have not seen a controller for the alternator, I have seen 12v dc to dc chargers for charging the lithium batteries. Does anyone make a controller that a alternator, a wind generator and a solar array can hook up to? If I go with the DC to DC charger for use with the alternator and a solar/wind controller will there need to be a switch were the house bank is charged by one system at a time?
I am new to the solar/wind generating process and could use some help designing the system
Thanks
Tom

Welcome to the forum.

Does anyone make a controller that a alternator, a wind generator and a solar array can hook up to?
I am not aware of a controller that will do alternator, wind and solar. (What controller are you looking at for Wind + Solar?).

If I go with the DC to DC charger for use with the alternator and a solar/wind controller will there need to be a switch were the house bank is charged by one system at a time?
There is no need for a selector switch, you can have two separate charge control devices charge the same battery bank at the same time.
Ideally, all the controllers will all be set to identical charge profiles.... but even that is not a requirement.

I am not aware of an all-in-one charger like that. You can get a combination shore charger and MPPT controller (renogy) but it isn't what I would recommended, as it isn't the best shore charger or the best mppt solar controller.