diy solar

diy solar

Scream Power LiFePo Batteries - Should I try them?

Without a recommendation or some independent test results I'd stay away from unknowns.

I’m a beginner and don’t want to recommend a product I haven’t fully tested, but I can share my experience.

I ordered the 12v 120Ah Scream Power battery in November. Mainly because of price and free shipping to Canada, to be honest. Took a chance since it isn’t sold by Amazon.

Arrived in good condition in the window they promised. I contacted them once about the tracking number (the shipper apparently changed), and they got back to me within 24 hrs.

It comes with a 10 amp charger, so it took a little time to top up. I did a discharge test by connecting an AC inverter. Then I connected a small power energy meter with a shunt. All this stuff was sold separately (except the charger).

My math said I should expect about 1440 watt hours, and I got 1510 watt hours. So I considered that a success.

I plan to use the system as battery backup during power outages - so I don’t plan for lots of regular charge-discharge cycles.

I’ve actually decided to order a second identical battery so I can connect them in parallel. I figured it made sense to get the second now so they would be about the same age and voltage.

Hopefully the second arrives in as good condition as the first, then I can start working out how to wire them together.

@Darrenm01 Did you test low voltage charge cutoff? I've been reading that the BMS does not have low voltage protection. Can you confirm. BTW, I'm in Ottawa and considering purchasing these for my RV.

I received my second 12v 120Ah Scream Power battery a few weeks ago. This one came with documentation, which the first did not. I’ve attached what they sent.

I also measured the battery capacity in watt hours. I was a bit braver, since I knew a little better how low the voltage could go without causing issues (and like you said didn’t know for sure it had a low voltage cut-off).