diy solar

diy solar

Security System for Off Grid Container(s) & Shed

Circ

We have property in Pahrump NV that is unoccupied for 6 months per year. 2 shipping containers and a shed where we keep all the cool stuff we've collected over the past several decades. Recently someone felt they needed some of our 'cool' stuff. So, I guess a solar powered off-grid security system is in order. Major Research Project! I was a home inspector so have a pretty thorough understanding of electricity on the AC side. Doing my best to bring my knowledge base up to tackle the complexities of DC. I did build a fairly simple 12v system for our RV using 8 solar panels (2350W) and 8 100Ah Battle Born batteries so I have a very basic understanding of solar systems. For this next system, I intend to step up to 24v with possibly higher voltage panels to cut down on wire cost and make it more efficient. There will basically be 3 draws on this system; 1)Four 24v POE cameras. 2) Some type of audible voice controlled noise makers, sirens, flashing lights, etc. 3) Power tools, such as: Drill press, small compressor, saws, sanders, etc. These tools will only be used periodically and I am not on-site so I can't see the amp draws to do a load calculation but my current solar setup on the RV has supported my tools with no problems for the past several years.

My main question regards batteries. Battle Born has served us well with our current setup. They are fairly expensive and I see there are some additional alternatives available now. Will's informative video on building your own 24v battery bank is where I am leaning, however, I don't see anyone using 24v Tesla batteries. Is there a reason for that I am missing? A 24v 4kW battery can be purchased on e-Bay for around $1,000. That is way more battery than I will ever need but it would easily support my shop tools even if I added a bigger compressor and decided to work longer hours.