diy solar

diy solar

Seeking Advice from the Pros

Colton

Hi guys,

My name is Colton and I just created this account. I'm a total noob when it comes to setting up my own solar/battery storage system but I'm eager to learn and have been reading/watching videos like crazy over the last little bit to try to get up to speed.

I have an enclosed cargo trailer that I want to pull solar on for charging batteries on the inside. From those batteries I want a couple of 120v outlets to run power tools and a 240v outlet to charge my car. (however slow it might be)

Overall it should be a pretty simple system, but since I'm new to this and don't want to blow myself up I figured I'd seek counsel from the pros. I started with Prowse's article and have read a lot of threads here which is why I decided to register. Overall this seems like a very friendly/helpful community.

I'm not looking for anyone to do all the work. I'll list what I have here and if by chance it looks okay, just let me know! :)

If I totally screwed something up please let me know that as well so that I can remedy it. Thanks in advance!

Solar Panels - I have 18 of these no-name panels. I'm very confident that they won't produce the advertised 250w each haha. Even if they only produce 50w a panel that gets me 900w during peak sunlight hours. My plan is to wire these panels in 3 series of 6, for around 96v 45a total to the charge controller.

Charge Controller

Batteries - My plan is to wire 2 of these in series for 48v

Battery Protect, Fuse and Battery Meter - These I got from William's article

Inverter - From what I can tell, this should be able to pull 48v at 60a from the modules and then I can use up to 3000w at a time either from the 120v or 240v outlets

I searched forever for the right BMS but it appears that the charge controller and inverter both have built in safeties for over discharge, over heat, etc. Combining them with the battery protect, is that enough?? Or do I need an official "BMS"?