diy solar

diy solar

Series AND parallel?

I am new to solar and am 100% off grid. I have Eighteen 370 watt panels, two lv6548 inverters and two 9.2kw Big Batteries. My panels are wired 2 sets of 4 in series going to one inverter and 2 sets of 5 in series going to the other. This is what was recommended for wiring for my system. I am a home inspector by trade but being new to solar there is a lot I still don't understand. It looks as though I could use the two communication cables to connect my inverters and that would give the inverters the ability to function in parallel as well? Are the inverters able to figure out what my needs are and change that function for me? Do my panels need to be wired in parallel for this to work? I'm confused, have a LOT invested in this system and am terrified of messing it up. Its almost Halloween and winter is closing in on northern NH and I need the power for my heat and my water. HELP!

What is the Voc of each panel and what are the solar input range and MPPT (optimal) range of the lv6548?

The panel configuration needs to meet the SCCs limitations first, and if possible, hit the MPPT range as well. Array voltage too low and your SCC will not startup; too high and you fry the SCC..

Messing with numbers:
370W x 18 = 6660W
Avg solar day 5h x 6660W = 333000Wh
2x 9200Wh batteries = 18400Wh. (Lead acid? divide by 2 for usable)
18400Wh / 6660W = 2.7h to recharge from empty if 18400Wh usable

NH “may” be more like 2h solar day in winter. Also depends on how well array positioned and tilted.

What is the Voc of each panel and what are the solar input range and MPPT (optimal) range of the lv6548?

The panel configuration needs to meet the SCCs limitations first, and if possible, hit the MPPT range as well. Array voltage too low and your SCC will not startup; too high and you fry the SCC..