diy solar

diy solar

Series Parallel panel wiring newbie question

Belzo

I'm brand new to solar and have just setup my first really small setup. I have a MPPsolar PIP 2424 Inverter (off grid model, no feed to grid) with 4 Rich 200W panels wired in series going to the Inverter right now with a BigBatteries.com Mule 24v 3kwh battery. What I'm curious about is I have issues with shade on my 800w (max) panel array right now. I was considering adding another group of panels in a different spot on my roof to get morning and midday sun and I'm trying to wrap my head around maybe doing that group back there in series as well and then joining the two groups of panels into parallel. So one group would be in the current location (south) on one angle and direction and the other group would be elsewhere pointing a slightly different direction (south but maybe more south east) and angle. Would this array setup work in theory or is there a better way to do this? Thank you

Attachments

• 20211104_161121.jpg
    20211104_161121.jpg
    111.5 KB · Views: 19
  • Screenshot_20211118-214456_Acrobat for Samsung.jpg
    Screenshot_20211118-214456_Acrobat for Samsung.jpg
    103.3 KB · Views: 19
4S Vmp = 81.6

PIP MPPT range = 30-80V

You may be losing a little off the top end.

Recommend you rewire existing array as 2S2P. This would mitigate partial shading implications. Panels in parallel do not adversely affect one another when shaded. When a panel in a string is shaded, it can have a notable impact on the output of the entire string.

Given your plan, you could go 2S4P: 2S2P to South. 2S facing West and 2S facing East.

I think I understand thank you for the suggestion. Technically is what I was thinking acceptable or would it not work?

4S Vmp = 81.6

PIP MPPT range = 30-80V