diy solar

diy solar

Series/parallel wiring of panels to compensate for partial shading

Creopater

Wanting to know if wiring (8) 200 watt panels in series/parallel would be optimal for a configuration in which half the panels will be partially shaded when all are tilted? I am designing a system for the roof of my RV that will have four panels mounted on full extension slides over four fixed panels. When extended (and tilted), half the panels may be partially shaded. I’m looking for the best of both worlds here. When all are flat, of course, there is no issue wiring in either Series or Parallel. My understanding is that series/parallel wiring also reduces the gauge of wire needed.
Any help greatly appreciated. Yes, I am new to this.

Wanting to know if wiring (8) 200 watt panels in series/parallel would be optimal for a configuration in which half the panels will be partially shaded when all are tilted? I am designing a system for the roof of my RV that will have four panels mounted on full extension slides over four fixed panels. When extended (and tilted), half the panels may be partially shaded. I’m looking for the best of both worlds here. When all are flat, of course, there is no issue wiring in either Series or Parallel. My understanding is that series/parallel wiring also reduces the gauge of wire needed.
Any help greatly appreciated. Yes, I am new to this.
Series lowers current and that is good for power drop across the wires.
Parallel increases current but tends to be less impacted by shading.