diy solar

diy solar

Setting up a 1kw off grid solar system in the Philippines

Loniko

Hey guys,

So I recently purchased land in the Philippines (let's not discuss the how) and want to put an off grid solar system onto the property as the local electricity supply is more than unreliable and expensive the same time.

So I'm totally new to this and tried to wrap my head around all the things needed.
Even though I am a total newbie, I would love to tackle the setup myself.

I'm thinking of around 1kw of solar panels, either 3x/4x 300W or 3x400W. That should be more than enough for my needs as the biggest consumer would be the fridge. I don't intend on running an AC with that system.
MPPT charge controller. So there is 20A, 40A and 60A available as far as I know from my research. Which one to choose?
Inverter. There are hundreds of them. From 100USD to more than 600USD (fully off grid 48V 6000W) on the local online shopping platforms. Is more expensive better?
Batteries. Definitely want to go for LiFePo4 batteries. Best deal I could find were 3.2V 100Ah. There are also 3.2V 200Ah.
Should the system run on 24V or 48V?

My biggest worry would be connecting all the batteries and me hopefully not messing anything up.
I know it probably would be easier to just get an electrician, and I agree with you here, but the local electricians can lay cables inside a house and seeing their wiring gives me shivers. Those who are trained are from other islands or the biggest cities and only come out when you purchase their systems which I found to be way more expensive than buying everything yourself.

I hope I'm not too confusing. I probably missed a few things or am thinking the wrong way? That's why I'm here.

Please help me out. ?

Thanks a lot