diy solar

diy solar

Shipping Container Swimming Pool

Scotty_014

I'm currently investigating the viability of making a swimming pool for my home, from a shipping container. I can get this made very cheaply as i work in the industry.
Given that the pool will basically be a steel tub, i'd like to keep it heated by solar power, so as to raise the temperature of the water by approx 10 Deg C from ambient.
The whole container will be buried in the ground, so as flush with ground at the top surface.
I live in Sydney Australia, so the temperatures in winter don't get down too low, most days about 13-18 Deg C in the middle of the day.
The question i'm debating is whether to heat the water by cycling it out and through a heater then back in. Or to heat the steel tub by running an electric current through it, from solar power source??
The size of my steel tub is (L)6.9m x (W)2.2m x (Ht)2.2m, using 3mm thick mild steel.
I'd welcome all comments on whether this is possible? The power that would be required? And the appropriate solar system setup that would be required?
If it is possible to heat this way with solar, would a 24V system be suitable?

Cheers,
Scotty...

container are made of metal. Metal is very conductive (eletricity and thermal).
to get the container not to explode when filled of water you probably will have to reinforce with concrete on the outside.
And water for swimming pool is usually pretty corrosive...
so in my opinion, it will be the hell to keep water warm in a such setup.
the best is to heat water directly with some solar heat panel or tubes.

It will hold the water just fine after being coated with some water proofing and buried in the ground. I assume you have a ton of sun so a solar water heater is in order. I love the idea, keep us posted.

I'm currently investigating the viability of making a swimming pool for my home, from a shipping container. I can get this made very cheaply as i work in the industry.