diy solar

diy solar

Should a metal roof be grounded?

Dr Mark

Mike Holt explains why 690.47d needs to immediately be removed from the code (why multiple grounds can be bad). Long video but he explains it well. If it's a concern for your area (e.g., don't you live in one of the lightening capitals of the world?), think about how to undo it after the inspector leaves. Auxiliary grounding electrodes (like for a generator) are exempt and don't need to meet the 25 ohm rule or tied to the main ground - but you have to make it match up to what your inspector wants to get passed.
I have a metal roof without a solar array. Would there be any need to ground a metal roof? I liked the video.

Check your local codes to be sure... but...

AFAIK metal roofs are not usually grounded and do not attract lightning strikes any more than asphalt shingles; nor do metal roofs protect a building against lightning -- but that's just opinion... I'm not an expert. AFAIK, the only way to protect a building from lightening is with a properly designed and installed lightning protection system.

As a side note, a long time ago in a bayou far far away (actually it was the UF Lightening center), I heard an interesting theory about grounding masts on sailboats backed by a dataset too small to draw accurate conclusions from. The theory went that a grounded mast had less resistance to water, so was more likely to be struck by lightening. But, if lightening hit an ungrounded mast, it would do massively more damage to the boat - so it was still worth while to have grounding.

Last edited:
AFAIK metal roofs are not usually grounded and do not attract lightning strikes any more than asphalt shingles; nor do metal roofs protect a building against lightning -- but that's just opinion... I'm not an expert. AFAIK, the only way to protect a building from lightening is with a properly designed and installed lightning protection system.