diy solar

diy solar

Show and Tell Project In Progress

Mark H.

I'm a newbie so please forgive me if I chose the wrong forum for my first post. As I am beginning to research and convert my RV Van electrical system from my AGM & converter (only) to solar panel & lithium I thought I'd provide the "before" system (rebuilt by a friend and I) and update as the conversion proceeds...

Several years ago we completely replaced the default van system (dating from 1995) of "one battery" to a four battery 400 plus amp hr. deep cycle bank. In sum:

- Converter upgraded to a Progressive Dynamics 55 amp model
- 1500 Watt Thor inverter added (modified sine wave).
- Thor (Go-Power) Transfer switch added
- All main wiring replaced and new circuits added with heavier gauged wire.
- By-pass alternator charge Actuator and emergency "jump" system added.
- Various powered vent fans, TV, backup cameras, etc added.

My plan:

Approx 400 watts solar power
Approx 250 amp hr lith. batteries
Use of SC-2030 for solar charge control (attachs to bogart TM-2030 Bat Monitor already installed).
Replace Progressive Dynamics charger to a 70 amp converter that work with lith batts.

Challenges:

Roof top addition using ridged panels may cause handling problems on a 17' van.
Costs.
Alt feed to batts may need disconnected.

Attachments

• RV Photo Bed View from Passenger Seat.jpg
    RV Photo Bed View from Passenger Seat.jpg
    254.9 KB · Views: 34
  • RV Photo Under Bed.jpg
    RV Photo Under Bed.jpg
    221.6 KB · Views: 35
  • RV Upgrade Battery Bay Under  Bed.jpg
    RV Upgrade Battery Bay Under Bed.jpg
    74.5 KB · Views: 33
  • RV Upgrade Converter Circuit  Breaker View.jpg
    RV Upgrade Converter Circuit Breaker View.jpg
    244.6 KB · Views: 34
  • RV Van Photo Outside of Drop  Door.jpg
    RV Van Photo Outside of Drop Door.jpg
    84.7 KB · Views: 33
  • RVUpgrade  Transfer  Switch Inside View.jpg
    RVUpgrade Transfer Switch Inside View.jpg
    246.6 KB · Views: 33