diy solar

diy solar

Signature Solar EG4 48v 100ah Batteries Alarming Out

BTW. I am a Software Engineer that at one time wrote firmware for solar inverters.
I have 40 years of coding and troubleshooting experience.

I like the products including the Growatt inverters
but they just don't work and Signature Solar knows
it.

I don't have much faith that they will ever have a tech
support that can adequately support these KNOWN
REPRODUCIBLE PROBLEMS.

YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED!

For example:
I bought a Growatt inverter on amazon
and batteries from SS.

SS didn't want to support inverter so
I bought another (same model) from SS.
The 2 had very different circuit boards.

I though maybe my first inverter was outdated
so I purchased another inverter from SS only
a week later

The third inverter had circuit boards like the first.
When I asked SS which was the more current version,
they said they didn't know that there were more
than 1 version.

I gave up.

If I can't fix it and SS can't, who can? Growatt says "call SS"...
do you mind DMing me your email address? I'd really like to look into this and make sure the tech dept is all on the same page. Is this a recent issue or something that has been ongoing? Which growatt inverter are you using and what trouble code are you getting?

I'm really sorry that you ended up with the comm hub, it's completely unnecessary if using EG4 batteries with a growatt inverter. A concern would be that the inverter you bought off amazon has an outdated firmware and is causing issues. But until I can get your info and look into it I can't really say.

Ben, can we please get rs485 documentation on the protocol for lifepower4 so i can port this to can on my sunny islands? i am ready to order 60kw worth of batteries but inverter selection is limited.

Ben, can we please get rs485 documentation on the protocol for lifepower4 so i can port this to can on my sunny islands? i am ready to order 60kw worth of batteries but inverter selection is limited.