diy solar

diy solar

Signature Solar refusing to give me support regarding the growatt es5000 and autotransformer.... Is this normal?

JamesHird

When there is so much confusion around the es5000 and the autotransformer. I wanted to confirm with Signature Solar that I was installing the setup correctly.

My simple question was, do I need to have leg 1 and leg 2 from the autotransformer going into a separate sub panel and do I need to ground the neutral from the autotransformer to a separate grounding rod.

Signature Solars response was, 'we can't give any advice on AC power. We can only advise on the DC side o things.'

This stinks like BS to me. Sounds like they're not standing behind a product they sold me. It doesn't fill me with much confidence anyway.

I'm new to solar, hence why I bought a all in one system. Maybe it was a mistake on my part to purchase a system that isn't as straight forward as I initially though.

Regardless, I'm feeling a little lost on this now. Is there anybody that can help me here?

My system is not grid tied.
I fully understand about balancing leg 1 and leg 2 from the autotransformer.

I've watched and read as much as I can on the matter and it's almost got me more confused than before.

Thanks in advance

I kind of understand because if they advise you, And you get it wrong and burn your house down, or electrocute someone, then they can be at blame.

Kind of a gray area in my book. Im kind of surprised they didn't suggest you hire a professional electrician if you don't know what you're doing.

When there is so much confusion around the es5000 and the autotransformer. I wanted to confirm with Signature Solar that I was installing the setup correctly.

My simple question was, do I need to have leg 1 and leg 2 from the autotransformer going into a separate sub panel and do I need to ground the neutral from the autotransformer to a separate grounding rod.