diy solar

diy solar

Six 24V batteries in parallel vs 12V in series parallel - actual benefits?

themdreams

I'm a solar noob and in the early planning stage of a solar setup on an RV, using a 24V LiFePo4 battery bank setup (I already decided that I will want to go 24V vs 12V for the bank). Planning getting 6 batteries to get to 300Ah, at least initially.

I understand that putting batteries in series is usually not the preferred way to go as this could, in theory, lead to unequal charging at some point. Using 12V batteries to derive at a 24V battery bank I would obviously have to put two 12V batteries in series to get my 24V. Then again, that's only 2 batteries in series, not like 3 or 4 on e.g. a 48V system. Putting that series in parallel should be a non-issue since that is recommended anyway and would the same with the 24V batteries.

Therefore, given the above, what would be the real benefit of spending more on a 24V battery? If I want the same Amp hours I would need to get the same amount of batteries and the rest (step-down converter etc) would be the same as well. Sure, wiring the batteries together would be slightly cheaper, I guess, but I doubt that would offset the $50 premium on e.g. a Battleborn 24V battery compared to the 12V as it's only the short stretches for connecting the batteries. Weight would be slightly increased with the 24V ones as they are heavier but I consider that a non-issue as long as there are still AGMs etc out there that weigh a ton in comparison. Finally, expandability should also not be a relevant factor since that again would only add another series to the parallel setup on 12V batteries.

What am I missing? Why is seemingly everyone going with 12V batteries even on a 24V battery layout/setup?

Thanks for any insight!

6x 100ah@12vdc = 300ah@24vdc
6x 50ah@24volts = 300ah@24vdc
You can't cut a 24vdc battery in half to make 12vdc batteries but you can combine 12vdc batteries to make a 24 vdc battery.